Sparks Mexico Web


Guanajuato State Slideshow

Guanajuato is a state in the central highlands of Mexico. It is named after its capital city, Guanajuato.

The city of Guanajuato was probably created between 1548 and 1554 when the discovery of abundant silver deposits was made.  Slowly, livestock ranches were pushed northward to allow for the development of Guanajuato, which was, by 1570, already officially recognized as a town.  In 1786, as ordered by the Spanish crown, the territory of New Spain was administratively divided into twelve provinces. One of these provinces was Guanajuato. In 1826, the first Mexican constitution was ratified, which converted Guanajuato into a free and sovereign state of the Mexican Republic

The town is a maze of cobblestone streets and alleys that wind around steep hillsides and small plazas. Really a fun town for walking with a very European feel. Each October the city holds the Festival Internacional Cervantino, an international festival of the arts named after Miguel de Cervantes.

In addition to the state capital city of Guanajuato, the state includes the cities of San Luis de la Paz, Acámbaro, Celaya, León, Yuriria, Salamanca, Irapuato, San Miguel de Allende, Salvatierra—the first city of Guanajuato, Cortazar, Cueramaro,Tarimoro, and Dolores Hidalgo, the cradle of Mexican independence.

  Guanajuato State

Dolores Hidalgo
Casa de Allende
SMA Artisan Street Market
SMA Balnearios
San Miguel Viejo
Streets of San Miguel
Streets of Guanajuato